No, that is not true. If you group in Ableton Live, you can put effects on the group Chanel to effect all channels with in the group. The way Dirty secret do is the old way that people used to do, before the group channel setting was available on Ableton Live. What I know the only different is visual. When you group you can hide your tracks but if you are routing you will see all tracks the whole time.