Audio Interfaces - Please explain

I have been making music for a couple of years on my mac book using soft synths, van guard, sylenth NI Vsts etc and they sound ok, but never really 100% professional.

I am looking to get my tracks sounding better quality and looking around it looks like I need an external Audio interface. Can you explain how this will improve the sound?

I understand if you are recording audio in to you Mac you would need an Audio interface but I only using soft synths.

I guess when you bounce down tracks to Audio, the Audio interface would created better quality Audio, but if you are playing a soft synth as a midi track would that sound be improved by an Audio interface?

or is it just in the final stage when you export the track to a wav file, would the Audio interface make the sound better at that stage?

Sorry lots of questions. Just trying to decide if an Audio interface is the key thing I am missing in my set up.

Cheers

[quote]chocsaway (14/07/2011)[hr]I have been making music for a couple of years on my mac book using soft synths, van guard, sylenth NI Vsts etc and they sound ok, but never really 100% professional.

I am looking to get my tracks sounding better quality and looking around it looks like I need an external Audio interface. Can you explain how this will improve the sound?

I understand if you are recording audio in to you Mac you would need an Audio interface but I only using soft synths.

I guess when you bounce down tracks to Audio, the Audio interface would created better quality Audio, but if you are playing a soft synth as a midi track would that sound be improved by an Audio interface?

or is it just in the final stage when you export the track to a wav file, would the Audio interface make the sound better at that stage?

Sorry lots of questions. Just trying to decide if an Audio interface is the key thing I am missing in my set up.

Cheers[/quote]

Read this: