Baby Steps

Hello everyone,

I really hope this is in the right place, but I’m a complete noob when it comes to this forum and creating electronic music in general, and I was hoping if some of you guys could come forward and maybe point me in the right direction. I’ve obtained Ableton after a friend recommended it, and just feel overwhelmed. I have lots of experience in music theory and have played several instruments for the past 14 years, but this is a whole new beast. I haven’t had time to look into the tutorial video section yet, but any advice and pointers would mean so much.

Cheers,

T

Welcome Mr T - first I would reccomend that you subscribe and watch the beginners guide to Ableton tutorials, afyer that just ask away someone will be more than happy to help - regardless if your new to production or not

I;ve been using Ableton for nearly a year and still learning :slight_smile:

Yeah, the ‘Make Music with Ableton Live 6’ course helped me out a lot when I was first learning ableton’s interface.

http://www.sonicacademy.com/Producer/Course//Make_Music_with_Ableton_Live_6.cid2089

If you have any specific questions after watching some of the videos we’d be happy to help, like slender said. Also, if you tell us what kind of music you’re interested in making it might help us to recommend some tutorials for you to watch or what specific techniques you should focus on learning.

Good luck and welcome :wink:

Much obliged gentelmen. I’m hoping to crank out some progressive house in the near future, and eventually dip my feet in some dubstep. If I have any questions after watching some videos I will no doubt return and query you fine folks.

Thanks again,

T

Read the Ableton Manual and subscribe to SA. They have videos for all the styles you mentioned.

Man your in the best place to learn! Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Things can take a while to get used to but keep at it