Can someone explain cpu to me Please

I’m using logic and when I start adding alot of instruments and effects I notice my cpu meter begin to shoot right in to the red region. There are two regions in the cpu monitor. they both are bouncing into the red, not just the bottom one.

What is happening and how is it effecting my music? I would also like to know does my computer have a great deal of cpu or no. I’m not sure how I figure this out. Is this ram or what exactly is this? This is probably something I should no, but I’m still learning. I will appreciate your help. Thanks in advance.

i take it you are on mac, if you are using logic goto the apple at the top left of your screen and click onit and select "about this mac " it should tell you which processor you have and how much memory you have installed.

for instance mine says

Mac OS X 10.5.7

Processor 2 GHz Intel Core 2 duo

Memory 2 GB 667 MHz

I have 2.4 ghz intel core 2 duo

and my memory is 4 gb. Is this what you need to know to tell me if I have an alright amount of cpu or a coolty amount. Also, thanks for the help.

I dont want to know the answer and I don’t care, but are you using a bootlegged/cracked copy of Logic. If you are, many of them are unstable, causing your computer to spike in cpu. I am using a 2.16 ghz core2duo with 2 gigs of ram in Ableton Live and I dont have any issues till I get to 20-25 channels. Thats when I start to flatten tracks and go from there. Regardless of what DAW or Computer you use, you are going to have to learn about CPU management. Learn about freezing/flattening tracks and using your sends/returns to your full capacity. These tools will help you manage your CPU resources. Holla!

you have more that enough system to complete some very big projects with that system.

the only thing i can think of is you are using cracked software, cracked versions of vanguard, massive, nexus, ableton are all massive cpu eaters