Collaboration Questions

Hi everyone,

I thought I might start a topic about collaboration. Specifically, either your experiences, horror stories, how to find people to collaborate with etc.

I ask this because I am new to the dance production game. I spent 15 years as both a studio and live rock drummer in the US, but have always loved electronic music. This past year I finally decided to dive into production (more for the love than the money) and tried to find well known people in my area to collaborate with. I feel I write really decent hooks (again this is from my own diluted perspective :)) but lack alot of the where with all of the technology side of things.  I have been amazed at how it seems like taboo in my area. It’d be great to hear from some of you who have experience in this field.

I think you just have to be patient and find the right person (kinda sounds like dating)... ha

I lucked out. My brother & I make music and he has a better ear than I do. Plays piano like Mozart.

However I am more of a tech-head so a lot of the technical stuff I tend to learn first.

In the end of the day... my best suggestion is to wait to find the person that loves the same music as you.

Man that really sounds like a dating site... lol. but seriously.

As a musician you want to play and work with as many people as you can...

However when your looking for a collaborator or a person to work on the regular with...

You have to love the same music.

my 2 cents

LOL. Yeah you’re not kidding. Maybe I should offer these people dinner and a movie or something. I did team up with one guy (for a price of course) through a friend of mine who is pretty well known in dance music, but he was big back in the 90’s and didn’t seem like he learned anything new since. I had him mix down my first song and to this day everytime I hear it I cringe at what he did to my poor bass drum sound. Maybe I’ll put an ad in the classified section of my local paper. :stuck_out_tongue: