Complete beginner asking for YOUR advice

Hello everyone.

I know practically nothing about music production. Zero. Nada. Zilch. I have however got 8 years worth of guitar playing and songwriting behind me and an eagerness and determination to learn. What I want to learn is how to make music like some of my favourite artists like Justice/SebastiAn/Busy P (ed banger records basically) and Alix Perez (i can almost hear your groans at another justice fan) but also love techno/house/DnB.

But before I crack on with all the brilliant looking lessons, I need your help!

What do I need to do all this?

Computer: Sorted. (just got myself a brand new macbook)

Software: Ableton Intro? (or do I jump in the deep end and get the full one?) I like the live playing ability.

Sound: I need a usb audio interface/soundcard? Which one? Do I plug my monitor speakers into this? (not too bothered about having guitar/mic inputs)

Midi controller: thinking of a pad style one for sampling. Again does this plug into the audio interface?

With all of the above lower cost options would be great!

Be kind guys, complete beginner here just looking for some advice, I’ve watched the videos you are bound to link and have read the stickies but thought I would ask here to get a variety of opinions.

Thanks!

Thomas

Hi there and welcome

First off this link should help

http://forums.sonicacademy.com/Topic24003-8-1.aspx

My personal opinion is don’t spend any money untill you know music production is your thing - i hope it is :slight_smile:

Also we were all beginners (and still class myself as one) once and this unlike other forums s a very friendly environment so ask away

[quote]thomas (08/08/2010)[hr]Hello everyone.