Compression Tip

Hi Guys,br
br
Just wanted to share a cool little tip for setting your compressors up, it works on any track and helps to prevent over-compression (in some cases!).br
br
One of the biggest problems I find with my students (I’m a teacher!) is that they don’t understand the controls of a compressor and as such fiddle around until it sounds loud. I have found that this technique helps the students listen to the impact of the compressor and helps preserve those lovely transients and grooves that exist in every track!br
br
The first point to make is this, compression as a multiplicative effect. If you have a vocal compressed at 4:1 on the vocal track and then a buss compressor at 2:1 your resultant compression ratio is 8:1 NOT 6:1 as many people believe. The maths prove this (and I can support it with the maths if anybody is interested!) this is a common cause for individual tracks to sound squashed and over-compressed in a mix…br
br
So how to st a compressor? Begin with these settings …br
br
Threshold - turned right downbr
Ratio - at maximumbr
Attack - at minimumbr
Release - at minimumbr
br
Sounds cool doesn’t it :pbr
br
Now play with the Attack and listen for the transient, it should start to jump out as you turn the attack up, you can change the perceived “size” of the transient by increasing the attack.br
br
Now increase the release until either (a - for individual percussive sounds) you hear the transient in semi-isolation from the tail or (b - for busses/any other sound) the sound “breathes” back in with the groove of the track.br
br
Now decrease the ratio until you can hear the above sounds (from attack and release setting) in a subtle way.br
br
Finally raise the threshold until you are seeing an amount of gain reduction that you are happy with (I usually aim for no more than -6dB - usually around -3dB…)br
br