DJ'ing Live with Ableton

Subject and description prettymuch says it all. I’m pretty much a complete novice to the world of DJ’ing and music production, but it’s what I love and I’m pretty much saturatingmyself with everything I can learn right now.

I’ve watched all the various dj tutorials, because while I want to produce music… I really want to learn to perform live as well. I like Ableton a lot, but I have a suspicion that if you aren’t using Sorrato and turntables no one will take you seriously as a performance DJ. How true do people think this statement is?

there are plenty of ableton DJs/performers, including some very big names, I think is more down to what is that you want to do as a DJ or live act and what works for your music. Of course you’ll find 100s of purist (most of which never played to more than 10 people) saying that it’s not ‘real’ DJing. But who cares you’re not there to please or impress other DJs, you there to rock the crowd. Personally I use Traktor Scratch and love it :slight_smile:

Hey folks, I have another quick question about Setting up a set. I’ve been to more clubs, shows, and raves than I could ever hope to count. I think I have a decent feel for general set structure and such, but I’m curious about something.

Lots of DJs say they spin house, electro house, trance, etc. (as in most list a few sub-genres if you look at myspace pages where they catagorize themselves). However I don’t know that I’ve ever heard many dj’s mix say a bit of hard house into a trance set.

Is mixing sub-genres within the same set just a huge faux pas or something? Why is it you never hear a bit more variety within sets?