False notes

Hello

since this is my first post on this forum, i should say that i am a newbie on the field of producing. However, i’ve worked myself in during the past 6 months and i thought i had come up with something that doesn’t sound so bad at all.

i made some samples and sent them to a friend of my, who also produces. He told me my samples are bad because there are false notes in it and he kinda broke it all down. As for me, i don’t / can’t hear the false notes :s. Obviously my question is :

How can i know wich notes are false and how do i correct them?

I’ve already watched some sonic academy video tutorials regarding chords and scales, but i can’t figure out how i should apply that knowledge to a melody i’ve already made…:s. I probably sound stupid, but i really do want to know how i can solve these incorrect notes so i can learn more and improve myself in order to eventually make a good, decent track.

You can download both samples of my own ‘production’ here :

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=S8FEMXAW

Hope anyone can help me…

greetz

By ‘false notes’ i’m wondering whether he means notes that arn’t in scale?

It’s a good idea to brush up on your musical theory, if there are notes that arn’t in key with each other they can cause problems and sound a bit odd. I used to have this problem before learning the theory, after learning though it’s helped a lot.

You say you’ve already seen this

[url=http://www.sonicacademy.com/Live+Recording/Course/?contentId=2944&bt=Videos]http://www.sonicacademy.com/Live+Recording/Course/?contentId=2944&bt=Videos[/url]

Try to find out the ‘key’ of your track, you’ll know which is your key because if you play a piano next to it, it’s the key that you can continuinly play throughout the track without it sounding weird.