Feedback on track please

Hi therebr
br
I have been working on this track for some time and would like some constructive feedback from the Sonic Academy team on it please.br
br
I do think the bass/kick parts still need some work as it does sound a tad muddy to me, so any tips on this will be helpful.br
br
If you spot anything else, please also let me know. I just meed to get out of my head!br
br
Many thanksbr
br
Link:br
br
https://soundcloud.com/braamalberts/persistence-braam-alberts/s-VF6l9

Was this the correct forum to ask for feedback at all?

yeah just takes us a while to get round them all… ill have a listen tomorrow when im in the studio

Ok cool, I’m a noob around here so just not sure what the normal protocol is! :smiley: Cheers for responding!

good track very atmospheric and the riff works well.br
br
Im not getting much bass coming through… i can hear the kick but id like to hear a tiny bit more bass… maybe layer a sub on the of beat.br
br
in the breakdown you have the sidechain pumping all the way through… i would ease back on it. maybe just reduce the volume of your ghost kick if thats what you are using to trigger it.br
br
at the end of teh break down the build up kick has too much bass… its taking over everything… stick a hipass filter on it and remove the low end. this will help the track to kick in better.br
br
towards the end of the break you might want to hipass a few more elements to… just to take the weight out of that section so you really feel it when it kicks back in.br
br
you bring the piano back in at the end. i think having the piano and main riff running together is too confusing… i would simplify the piano and just use maybe singe notes. this will give it more space but you could keep the melody.

Cheers Phill. Appreciate the feedback. Will look at those elements.br
br
I’ve always struggled with getting the bass cutting through more but will try the off bass tip to give it more weight.

are you using ANA?br
br