Guitar Crack --radiohead creep

Hi everyone,

I’m intrigued about this guitar strum thing heard 3 times or so from 00:56 to 1:02 mark before they go into the main part –

[url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzjUjNPYzLg]Radiohead - Creep ‌‌ - Bohemia Afterdark - YouTube

we’ve all heard it elsewhere; I’m not a musician, never been one don’t know who to play anything but the computer – So to SA users and any one who plays guitar; what is something like that actually called? How is it done? How can I do it in ableton (with live’s native guitars?)?

As always, thanks very much for your help.

Not sure either, but I think he plays a chord that has no release at all. In other words he doesn’t let the strings vibrate too much. Or maybe there’s some kind of effect on the floor he’s using…

You could try the no release thing.

I think he uses his left hand to dampen the strings on his guitar as he is strumming and obviously lots of distortion.

Have you got Guitar rig?

Take a look at this and listen to the demos:

https://co.native-instruments.com/index.php?id=guitarriguserlib&type=0&ulbr=1&plview=detail&patchid=7377&L=1 

Distant & vague memory from another life:

They used a Fender Telecaster (bright pick-ups) and had a really sh!tty small cheap amp, which they slit the speaker (maybe??) - &/or had the mic pressed right up to the speaker.

Think there was an overdrive & chorus in the chain??? Probably Marshall & EH Chorus. They were big into American Music, so they would have had those pedals at the time, being in the middle of grunge. Could have just been the amp rode to an inch of its life.

But thats from a very long time ago - its the stuff of legend & chinese whispers now.

Remember reading an old NME or Melody Maker or something - and they said it was a dirty horrible sound, make from driving everything to the hilt.

So nothing to do easily live?

[quote]daniaan (29/11/2011)[hr]So nothing to do easily live?[/quote]