Hathaway Amen WIP V4

I would really appreciate some feedback on this track I’m working on. I have been doing it for a few months on and off and feel it’s ready to take some vital feedback to keep on improving it.

I am looking for feedback on sound selection (general opinion if they are right for this style of track. How they could be improved. Arrangement ( what works what doesn’t) and mixing (If it’s heading in the right direction what I could do to improve it. Compression, better use of reverb delay etc) It has a mastering rack on it.

Please be as brutally honest as you wish. I am a grown up and can take the critism. I won’t even cry… Well not in public anyway.

This track is inspired by the Gaia track Tuvan and that general style. This was the last time I was religiously listening to trance until well a few weeks ago. I feel I need to catch up because I’m pretty clueless about the “scene”

I used ableton 10 with the vsti being ANA2 and Sylenth everything else is stock plugins except for lfo tool oh and it’s in D minor at 132bpm.

Thanks in advance

Hey there @CtrlAltDel

Sound Selection : It can fit the bill & the purpose for this kind of genre IMO ( pretending you’re aiming at a more Hard Trance style than the original which is more in the subliminal Trance register ) but you’re mainly using very sharp & transient driven sounds, it can sounds a bit harsh when the Mix gets busy and also over listening time since it’s a rather long Mix ). You have nice atmosphere layers in the background, they could take more space in the Mix IMO. Bringing the piano is nice, it could perhaps also take more space by using more reverb & delay.