Headphones and Monitors

OK, so I have about as good a room as I can get regarding acoustics. 4 bass traps, diffuser at ear level behind my mix position, Auralex absorbers, reference monitors on homemade monitor stands filled with sand, and even the thumbs up from Ethan Winer after sending him my waterfall plot using Room EQ Wizard.

I have KRK Rokit 8 RGs and the 10" Subwoofer powered by the Apogee Duet running through the balanced breakout box and connected with TRS to XLR balanced cables. Needless to say it sounds really good in here.

I have been using the monitors exclusively for about 6 months now, with very little use of headphones, because I feel it important to hear what is happening in the open air. I think I have become quite familiar with my set up and have been listening to an array of musical styles through my system to get a sense of the balance.

I have listened to everything from the Beatles in mono to Villalobos on vinyl through my monitors with the settings as is. I have read just about every book and article I can get my hands on to control sound from a technical perspective, and the reasoning behind why my ears guide my decisions. I even compare my own projects with high-quality Stevie Wonder and Steely Dan productions to reference things that might be out of whack. So here is the dilemma:

I am working on a couple of tracks that are quite good for me at my present level of skill. Things fit, the bottom end booms but doesn’t overwhelm, the top is crystal but not fatiguing, and the mid-range just sits as if it is emanating from behind my computer monitor. It’s beautiful. Then I put the headphones on and it sounds like absolute shizz-nit.