How to sell your remixes?

Hello,

I have been producing electro house remixes of top 40 songs for a few months, and putting them on youtube and soundcloud for the world to hear. They have been getting very popular, and multiple dance music radio stations have put them in rotation. Is there any way I could be making money off of my work? So far I have been putting them all up on my website for free download. Is that helping or hurting my cause? I need suggestions. Would labels be interested me? Is there any way I can sell them? Is there no money in being a remix producer?

It’s not that there’s no money, but you probably want to get an original mix to really get your name out there. People who look for remixes, especially big labels looking for remixers of Pop songs, are going to look at financially successful artists. So I would get around to either doing a remix that you’ve been commissioned to do or making an original track to get your name and aesthetic across to a bigger audience.

[quote]Djreidiculous (06/09/2011)[hr]Hello,

I have been producing electro house remixes of top 40 songs for a few months, and putting them on youtube and soundcloud for the world to hear. They have been getting very popular, and multiple dance music radio stations have put them in rotation. Is there any way I could be making money off of my work? So far I have been putting them all up on my website for free download. Is that helping or hurting my cause? I need suggestions. Would labels be interested me? Is there any way I can sell them? Is there no money in being a remix producer?[/quote]