New to dance music

I’m a big bellied, beer drinker, almost 40yo rock’n’roller, and I’m really new to dance music. I became a member to this site looking for music tech education and ended up knowing about genres I didn’t even know existed.

So, I’m kinda lost with all this nu-dis, nu-dat, electro-dis, electro-dat talk. I 'don’t know if you guys could point me out which bands/DJs I should listen to. What albums are essential for what style, etc. Just a guide so I could understand a little bit more about this type of music (which I’m really starting to enjoy).

Just for the record, I went to other places searching for info, but when I found Wikipedia’s “tiny” list of dance music styles, I gave up…

List of electronic music genres - Wikipedia

Thanks,

Raphael

Hey Raphael,

Welcome to the site! A good idea is to go through the How To Sound Like section and see who people would like to sound like. Those are great artists you could look into. Here is a brief rundown and everyone will most likely add to it.

Trance - Paul van Dyk, Tiesto, Ferry Corsten

Electro - Deadmau5, Fake Blood, MSTRKRFT, Wonk :wink:

House - DJ Dan, Bad Boy Bill, Dave Aude

Drum & Bass - Roni Size, Goldie, Dieselboy, AK1200

Techno - Kevin Saunderson, Richie Hawtin aka Plastikman, Juan Atkins, Derrick May

Progressive - Sander Kleinenburg, Gabriel & Dresden

Check those out and everyone add to it. I hate doing this because I always draw blanks when I have to make lists. BAD BOY BILL??? hehe :hehe:

Dance music is all about the rave. It’s about djs keeping a crowd on its toes. The best music for this is Techno. Short and straight to the point tracks. Check out the new Slam track on Figure or the new Drumcode.

Avoid the likes of Paolo Mojo, Sasha or John Digweed. Once you start taking things a little too seriously and lose track of what’s it’s about, your head is up your ***. Believe me, I’ve been there. Well there and even further… into 11 min long deep house with bloody flute solos.