Olympus (WIP)

So obviously this isn’t done, but I would like some advice and criticism on the structure of everything. Also my transition into the drum and bass section is sloppy but oh well, this is the first thing I’ve ever made in Ableton. So just tell me what you think about it so far. I’m still a newbie.

Olympus (progress #2) by TankedMetal

Hey Mate, you’ve got some interesting sounds in there. Some thoughts I had

I’d have the intro section much longer - 32 bars - with little or no percussion (low end anyway) and no bass. Then, when you drop the bass/perc in it’s got a HUGE impact.

The Reese/Hoover bass in the second half (that pans left and right) is pretty weak and could do with a lot more oomph or harmonics in it to make it richer.

Just a couple of thoughts. Hope you find them useful.

Yeah man I definitely agree. I’ll make the beginning longer. I’ve been trying to find out how to make a “reese” bass, any tips on that? I’m still really new to all this. It’s exciting. :smiley:

Hey, check out the Tech Tips Vol 5 video. There’s a Reese Bass tutorial in there.

i really liked this, sounded good on my samson rubicons anyway :slight_smile:

Thanks :slight_smile: I’m gonna work on the bass. So once I get the sound I like, how do I replace the current bass sound that’s there with the same automation?

depends how you created it. what instrument did you use?

I used operator with auto filter and octaves mod. I want to make a reese bass that’s super dirty.

Hey Tanked, well it’s pretty simple in that case.

Depends what you’re swapping it with. If it’s another Ableton VST you can click the Hot Swap button, find the replacement and click. Done.

If not then…

Set up a new channel and add whatever synth you need. Get the sound you want on it. If you follow Sonic Acedemy’s tech tip for a Reece Bass it’ll probably be Sylenth you’re using.