Production brick wall

Hi guys,

I hope you are well and that you’ve had a cracking weekend! Firstly let me say a huge thank you to all the team at S.A. for creating this amazing site and for allowing a complete novice like myself gather more info in 9mths than I could have EVER done if I’d tried to go it alone… :smiley:

Okay, so I’ve been working on this track over the last couple of weeks and I feel like I’ve hit a brick wall. I think it sounds okay arrangement wise but I just need some advice on how to make it sound more polished!

I’ve tried looking at the bass, compression and reverb tuts, but my head is crammed so full of all this amazing knowledge from the other vids that it just doesnt seem to sink in! :crazy:

So I was wondering if you guys could have a listen and try and advise me on what you think it needs…

Anyway I hope you like it and look forward to chatting with some of you!

It’s called Rhombus and “should” be on my signature at the bottom of this post :slight_smile:

Put more variation in the drum patterns along with more percussion. Your bass notes are to long, put more variation of notes and bass pattern on your bass.

Start small

Build

Break

Down size

End

Over all good idea for track, just work on it.

yo dude, great stuff for 9 months!! Solid arrangement and i like the use of vocal samples.

i’ll echo what Chernob said but in addition:

• Run that bass through some LFO rate automation - has some dubsteppy-like potential
  • perhaps layer the bass with a further synth to add some more texture to it. then split it at 200 Hz or so and add some amp distortion/saturation/overdrive to the part above 200Hz - will bring it to life.
  • also a bit more panning of instruments and in general, bring out more top end on most bits.
  • Some stereo width would go a long way to fattening out the overall sound

Hope it helps!

Cheers for the feedback guys!!