Searching for Synthesizer theory books - education

Hi everybody,

I am looking for some study books about synths. I am not particularly interested in books like synthesizer for dummies etc. More the usage and technical aspects around-behind it, explained in great detail.

I am fairly new to synths so yes I am low level, but I really don’t mind if its dry or boring reading material. If it covers all the knowledge levels, fine by me. But as you figured with the above said, I don’t really have a solid clue where to search.

I have looked up some material, but again… No idea, I much rather do it good and ask some help than just buying the books and find out I could have done it in a better way.

The are all quite commercial - consumer books. If somebody has any suggestion on study books…

Becoming a Synthesizer Wizard - Don’t like the title, but hey… The intro reads solid.

Analog Synthesizers

Power Tools for Synthesizer Programming - Only for the tech aspects behind it

I visited Bol.com for the books. So, anybody any good study advice for me?

Ok, thanks for reading guys!

EDIT: Should I place this in support corner or is it fine? It's a tutors question?... I guess

the dance music manual has a good section, to be fair i don’t think that theirs any one book that you’ll get all the answers to your questions in. just find as much material as you can and try to absorb it.

personally i would search down anything to do with subtractive synthesis and start there first, not only is it probably the easiest to learn but its also the most common practiced and widely used types of synthesis.

Well, thank you Jon!

As eager as I am, just bought the book for 35 bucks. Thanks again.

there is this book from 70s about analogue synths, it goes quite in depth with how things work, etc It has catchy tittle: Electronic Music - Systems, Techniques and Controls

You can pick up a second hand copy from amazon at ridiculous price or just google it :wink: