Software of hardware?

I am new to music production and I was just wondering…is there hardware available to produce sounds as the likes of the presets in synth software?

I am interested in purchasing Nexus or something alike to get the ‘Trance sound’ in my tracks, although I’d rather build similar sounds from scratch rather than the set presets they provide.

What hardware is available to create my own synth?

I may be talkin utter crap but I’m clueless!..any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks. 

Its ok bro. Everyone has to start somewhere. It is the other way around. All the software out there usually tries to emulate or recreate the sound of analog synthesizers because of their sound and their “warmth”. Purchasing a hardware synth costs alot of money, so I would personally hold off on buying one unless you are 100% dedicated into making music. For the time being, I would suggest getting a copy of the Suite version of Ableton Live which includes a ton of effects and software synthesizers. I would also purchase a copy of FXpansions DCAM Synth Squad. It is an unbelievable software synthesizer and is capable of so much. Throughout time, you can always add to your collection of gear, but in the mean time, that will start you well on your way to making amazing music. I would subscribe to this site and it will put you on the fast track to learning the ins and outs of music production. Good luck, welcome to the site, and ask questions. We are all here to help one another out.

I have purchased a years subscription to this site and also Ableton suite live 8, however I am struggling to find any decent sound in the library provided within suite. Can you give me the whereabouts please?

Thanks for the reply.