University For Music?

Hey guys, I am a freshman in college at Penn State Smeal College of Business, but I am not happy with what I am learning as well as the complete lack of music courses. I want to learn about business related to music as well as produce and learn about music in general.

So what universities do you guys know about that are good for music production/technology/ and/or business

I already applies to berklee and NYU but I find it annoying that to apply for business and production I have to be an amazing singer and performer despite the fact that neither of those have anything to do with performing lol…I played piano for 6 years and I have taken AP music theory classes so my theory is down but my proficiency at the piano is garbage now.

Have you looked into the Art Institute? My good friend went there and also interned at a local venue.

Now he is a talent buyer for one of the worlds largest concert promoters, LiveNation.

It seems kind’ve low end, I was thinking more NYU, Julliard range

Those schools are more for performing arts.

The music biz isn’t like most businesses. It’s not all about what school you went to.

Before working at LiveNation (which he makes a killing at) he worked at APA booking agency in California and represented acts like Flogging Molly, Something Corporate, and even Fall Out Boy. He got to where he is by getting out and networking his *** off more than his education.

It comes down to who you know and your experience more then education. It’s not an easy road for many to take, because you are right in thinking that if the music business thing doesn’t work out then that Art Institute degree isn’t worth crap in the real world.

It’s a risk only you can decide if you are determined enough to accomplish or not.

But wether you go to NYU or Art Institute isn’t going to matter in your interviews.

Tbh in this bad economy. Get a electrician or plumber or business degree or diploma.