When it's time to choose

Hi everyone,

here is my question (and below my current knowledge / experience) : I want to switch to Ableton live or Cubase… but wich one ?

So, to answer that question, I guess you need informations of who I am, what I do, what I know…

I own : FLStudio, Several VST (Toxic, Morphine & Poizone), Reason 3.5, and I bought EWQL Composer’s collection.

My experience : I’m a pianist (hobby, 7 years of piano), and I work in IT (so computers are not something I fear a lot :-))

What I plan to do : Electronic music & Classical music

Main experience on DAW : Impulse tracker (long time ago), Reason, FLStudio (for now)

Why do I wan’t to change : FLStudio is a great programm when it comes to do “pattern” based music. But when it comes to melody… I feel quite limited. If I have a melody I wan’t to decline 5 different ways, I have 5 different patterns in a long long vertical list to choose from… and it become really annoying finding the pattern you want to use in the end (Sometimes I have hundreds of pattern to find the one I want’ from). I’d like a more traditionnal way of sequencing the music “here’s what ‘that’ instrument is going to play”)

First thought : I was going to invest in Cubase 5, I felt this was the most powerfull and “professionnal” tool. While doing my homework, I’ve founded sonic academy and noticed that the majority of the tutorials where done in Ableton (there must be a reason for that).

Then I tried to find informations on Ableton and Cubase… why one or other ?

Additionnal questions :

• Do all the tutorials on SonicAcademy can be done with Ableton Live 8 (or do you have to buy “suite”) ?
  • Do someone here is using EWQL Collection with Ableton… any problem ? (I saw Worldbuilder was unsupported by Ableton…)

Thanks a lot for your help.

EDIT: Obvious fact - Once the choice is made… I’ll probably be a new subscriber here :slight_smile: