Compression on master track

hi guys

should i use compression on my master track?

No, but if you want to get an idea of what your track would sound like if it were mastered, then yes. But if you are sending it to mastering, then no.

I have a good sounding mastering rack that I use on my tracks. If you want me to throw it on your finished track so you can get an idea of how it would sound, let me know.

Thanks howie!

no problem dude :smiley:

yeah sure you should if thats the sound your after, many pro’s mix with a compressor on the master, in fact quite a lot of pro’s will put a compressor on the master even before they have started writing the track. this is a good way of knowing what your track will sound like (roughly) when mastered. mixing to a compressor is a very well know practice among pro producers.

where a lot of people make the mistake is that they don’t remove the compressor before sending the tack to be mastered.

mix to a compressor and remove the compressor when the track is mixed down.

one reason for doing this is that some elements will be pulled forward in the mix during mastering and other will completely vanish, by mixing to a compressor you’ll be able to keep a closer eye on the elements you want and the balance and you won’t get such a shock when the track comes back from mastering. just remember to remove it when the mix down is finished :slight_smile:

some producers start the mix with a compressor or limiter on the master bus while others prefer to strap one on at the end or leave it to mastering

using a master bus compressor allows you to push the volume of all channels a little highter without risking clipping. it clues the parts together and makes everything seem a little louder.