Could Someone Give me Advice on Improving My Mixes for a Professional Sound?

Hello there,

I am new to the forum and excited to be a part of this amazing community. I have been producing electronic music for a couple of years now; mostly focusing on house and techno genres. While I feel like my compositions and arrangements have significantly improved; I am still struggling to achieve that polished; professional sound in my mixes.

What is your typical workflow when mixing a track? Do you have any specific steps or order you follow that helps streamline the process?

How do you approach EQ and compression for different elements in your track? Are there any specific techniques or settings you swear by for drums; basslines; or synths?

What are your best practices for achieving a wide; immersive stereo field without losing focus and clarity in the mix?

How do you effectively use reverb and delay to add depth and space without muddying up the mix? Any favorite plugins or settings?

What are your recommendations for monitoring environments and equipment? I currently mix on headphones due to space limitations but wonder if there are ways to improve accuracy under these conditions.

Also, I have gone through this post: https://forums.sonicacademy.com/t/are-we-ever-going-to-get-this-mixing-tutorial/22178?page=2golangwhich definitely helped me out a lot.

How often do you use reference tracks; and what do you listen for when comparing your mix to a professional one?

Thankyou in advance for your help and assistance.

Hi there

I moved your post in the Music Production - Music Tech Discussion category since this is definitely not related to plugins, thanks for posting in the correct category on the forums :wink: